MDN downtime on May 8th, 2012

Update 2012-05-08: Thanks to last-minute magic by Mozilla IT, MDN won’t be completely unavailable after all. However, it will be running on a single virtual machine rather than three physical servers, so expect worse than usual performance during the time frame described below.

Mozilla Developer Network will be down for maintenance and completely unavailable for approximate eight hours on Tuesday, May 8th, 2012, starting at 15:00 UTC (Tue 17:00 CET, Tue 11:00 US-EDT, Tue 8:00 US-PDT). It should be back online by 00:00 UTC on Wednesday May 9th (Wed 02:00 CET, Tue 20:00 US-EDT, Tue 17:00 US-PDT).

During this time, the site will not be available for viewing or editing, so please make sure to save all your edits and be prepared in advance — maybe go outside and get some fresh air — MDN will be back before you know it.

Meanwhile, here are some alternative resources:

Open Web standards:

Mozilla stuff:

  • Mozilla wiki has all kinds of information related to the Mozilla project

One comment

  1. Tomer Cohen

    I guess that MDN is already served though a CDN. Why can’t you configure the CDN to serve static cached content instead of being offline?

    MDN is a good knowledge base (beside of having some minor error messages each time I visit it…), and in fact the only source I trust.

    May 7th, 2012 at 12:50

Comments are closed for this article.